Reviews

We love hearing from our customers:

Click here to send us your review or feedback

Moving can be very stressful especially when trying to tie it in with a very busy work/travel schedule... but thanks to the team at St Albans car and van hire I managed to get everything done on time and with out any problems, thanks to their flexibility and patience.
I have hired many vans and trucks in the past and it was great to receive a clean and fresh fully working vehicle !
would use again at the drop of a hat and highly recommend.
Thanks guys for going out of your way.


Andy, 18th September

I have been hiring from here on a few occasions, Andy and the team are great and I would highly recommend them.

I have always been issued with a clean van which has always been relatively new and ready to use.

I would definitely use them again and they really ease the stress of moving which is always appreciated!

Keep up the good work guys :-)

Jazmine, 6th September

Just had my van serviced today at St Albans van hire and could not have asked for a better reception when I arrived the free hire van I was taking while my van was being serviced was waiting for me spotlessly clean inside and out the team in the office were superb keeping me up to date at regular intervals as to what needed to be done on my van and when it was ready for collection when I arrived to collect the van they told me exactly what had been done and any advisories that needed to be done a great service from a friendly team of staff I would highly recommend this company to anyone thanks again st Albans van hire.

Simon, 22nd August

What an excellent local company to deal with!! Engaging, friendly, knowledgable staff, very good vehicles in first class condition, problem solving and helpful advice a-plenty plus the most competitive price I could find - what more could you ask for and so great to be able to support a local business where the proceeds trickle down into the local community instead of a multi national, where they get siphoned off to overseas, tax exempt accounts!!
I have hired both lorries and a 17 seat minibus recently all were fantastic.

Wendy, 19th July

Simply the best place to hire a van in Hertfordshire, I've used them several times now and wouldn't want to go elsewhere. Good range of vehicles in tip top condition at very competitive rental rates. On site secure parking for your vehicle, which is important. Knowledgeable, polite and friendly staff, help to make the process painless. You'd be crazy to go elsewhere if this is nearby to you.

Chris, 18th July

St Albans Van Hire has been very supportive with our Wheathampstead Village Weekend. They were very friendly and great communication. The vehicle was in brilliant condition Pleasant experience and has nothing to complain about. Highly recommend and we will book from them again.

Julia, 17th July

A fabulous weekend was had by one and all the van you provided helped make it all possible. Lovely van, a joy to drive and lovely people at St Albans Van Hire!

Wheathampstead Parish Council, 10th July

Hired a van on the 1st of July 2017 to help with moving house. After arriving early on the Friday morning I was welcomed by friendly staff and was sitting in the van ready to go within five minutes after some brief paperwork. 

Being one of the cheapest rates I could find I expected a slightly tired van. To my surprise it was a less than year old Ford Transit custom that had just been valeted. 

On returning the van (in a bit of a hurry) I managed to leave my wallet at home so I had no cash to fill it back up - Despite my own fault the team kindly said they would do it for me and add it to my invoice which was very kind.

Overall a fantastic and painless experience - would highly recommend!

Joshua, 6th July

This company is simply AMAZING. I cannot recommend them highly enough. Please don't go to the massive corporates, go to these people instead. Beyond friendly, beyond helpful and beyond knowledgeable. They made my moving day so much easier and I'm really grateful! 

Michelle, 3rd June 2017

Excellent company! Very helpful, polite and professional to deal with. Van very well maintained. Would highly recommend.
Tried a different St Albans company initially who were incredibly rude, thankfully then found this company.

Gloria, 24th May 2017

Just wanted to drop you a quick line to say thank you for the service you provided for me last week from the lovely lady at the counter whom I presume I spoke with regarding hiring a car on the phone many thanks 

And to the chap who came out to collect me to collect my hire car - very nice guy. 

Can't thank you enough but rest assured I will always recommend you to people I know and will always come back to St Albans Van Hire plus cars of course 

Once again thank you for such a fantastic service 

Darrell, 1st February 2017

I had a really good experience hiring a car from this company. The staff are polite, friendly and helpful, and the pricing is clear, honest and transparent. Highly recommended!

- Anthony O'Neill

A superb team of kind and courteous people where nothing is too much trouble! Highly recommend them.

- Debbie Negri, July 2016

Lovely new Ford Transit van very clean and tidy, good on fuel, easy to drive no problems at all. Staff at St Albans Van Hire super efficient, polite and friendly. Fantastic value!

-Wheathampstead Parish Council Village Day Committee, July 2016

I needed to move a complete household from Amsterdam to Wiltshire. I hired a van from St Albans Car and Van Hire as internet searches revealed that they had the right vehicle in the right place at a very reasonable price. Since I needed to tow a trailer and to take the combination out of the country, quite a lot of communication was required.

The staff were always most helpful and courteous, and I felt that they were prepared to go out of their way to simplify the process, even arranging the continental insurance documentation with the trailer hire company. The van was spotless and very easy to drive with a mirror system that made it easy to be aware of other traffic and to reverse accurately.

Throughout the complex move, the van performed perfectly. It was the one part of the whole complex operation that went completely smoothly. It could not have been better and I strongly recommend this firm.

- Frank, 1st July 2016

Really lovely staff who couldn't have been more helpful, especially the manager Andy! Lovely van, lovely drive, would highly recommend this company for any vehicle hire!

Kevin Taylor, 27th October 2015

My recent experience of hiring a van from you was a pleasant, no hassle experience, will happily use you guys (and gals) again.

Many thanks!

Ray Haws, 9th July 2015

I often use St Albans for vehicle hire for business and always find their prices the most competitive and the service is always friendly and efficient!

- Rich. 19th March 2015

My recent experience of hiring a van from you was professional, efficient and friendly, thanks!

- Michael Rimmer, 2015

These people have been great friends as well as suppliers of trucks to St Albans Cathedral, they totally understood our requirements and solved a problem that we had in moving a vast amount of furniture into storage.  Thank you guys for making it so easy.

John Henry Robinson, 30th September 2014

Booked a van for our camp, really smooth process and great value for money.  The customer service was fantastic - would definitely use again. Thanks very much.

Jaqui, 2nd St Albans Cub Scout Group, 19th September 2014

A big thank you to Mark and all the staff at St Albans Car and Van Hire. Yet again you provided us with one of your 7.5 tonne lorries at a discounted price to enable us to transport all of our camping equipment to West Yorkshire for our annual summer camp. We even managed to take the kitchen sink! Without your support it would be very difficult for us to hold this annual event that the kids really look forward to.

Thank you!

Karen Oxley, 1st Wheathampstead Scouts, 11th September 2014

Thank you so much to Mark and the team. I hired a van, which as a female can sometimes be really intimidating but the team could not be more professional and helpful. I was moving mirrors which is a bit tricky and they advised me how to transport them. The team were so efficient and as was the returning of the vehicle. Thanks again and I will always use your company and recommend you to friends.

Paula Hart, The Pilates Workshop, 21st July 2014

Christine, Mike and the rest of the team at St Albans van hire were a pleasure to deal with. We recently hired a mini van for a group of us to do the London to Brighton bike ride.

On the phone Christine was incredibly helpful, suggesting what we would need for the trip, and working out times to make it cheaper for us, and also worked with Mike to get some of the seats taken out of the back of the bus so that we could fit bikes inside which made the whole process much easier for us.

Highly recommended and would definitely use these guys again.

Matt, Premier Foods, 20th June 2014

A massive thank you to St. albans van hire for letting us use a brand new transit for our annual Wheathampstead 10k run.  We were able to load all our race equipment and extra's into the van and transport it all from the lock up to the field. The van was very clean, tidy and smart looking. A big thank you to the staff I met , all very happy and helpful. I really cant fault St.albans van hire.

Thank you!

Paul Drake, Race coordinator, 19th May 2014

I have used St Albans Car and Van Hire on a number of occasions and each time they have been very helpful, friendly and efficient. I would certainley recommend this company to anyone wishing to hire a vehicle.

Brian Lowe, 28th April 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Van performed perfectly. Recommended!

Paul Langridge, 29th April 2014

I am sending this email to say a massive thank you to the team at ST ALBANS VAN HIRE.

We had arranged a sports relief challenge which involved a Exercise bike that had been lent to us by a local gym.

A colleque and I had attempted to collect the bike in her car but we soon realised it was not going to fit, which meant we were very stuck. With no form of transport and the bike challenge promised to a lot of customers, we were left in a predicament.

We called round various companies to see if they would be kind enough to lend a hand, but all of the companies in the area were not prepared to offer any help. Bar one company ST ALBANS VAN HIRE. One call is all it took, for you to allow us the use of a van to transport the bike there and back.

This kindness helped the challenge to go on, and made a lot of customers and the charity very happy. If it wasn’t for the companies kindness we would not have been able to continue with the day and we all appreciate it very much!!

Recommendations from all the staff and customers will made for this company going forward!!

Thanks again so much for your kindness.

- Kimme Brill from RBS, 27th March 2014

Over many years St Albans Van Hire have shown their committment to Community Affairs by supporting JFRA on the weekend of the Fireworks Party and supplying a vehicle without charge so that we can more easily move the myriad bits and pieces needed for a successful show.

They have already agreed to do the same for the Sandridge 900 Gala weekend on midsummer in 2014 but this time three vehicles will be supplied. A very good example of a local business supporting the local community and creating goodwill all round.

- Lyn Bolton from Jersey Farm Residents Association (JFRA), 26th October 2013

I have used St Albans van hire on several occasions and would highly recommend them. Their staff are friendly and courteous, as well as very efficient. The process of vehicle collection and drop off is dealt with very quickly and without fuss. They have a wide range of vehicles all of which are well maintained, at very competitive rates. St Albans Van Hire are easily the best vehicle hire company I have used.

- Robert Lee, 23rd October 2013

With my wife we just moved to St. Albans. Although not knowing the area at all, we picked St. Albans car and van hire and rented a van for 24h from them. We realised we had made a very good as the team working there was not only friendly and professional, but also very flexible and helping.

Before returning the van we had planned to dump some unwanted furniture at the recycling center, but they wouldn't let us in because we arrive 1 minute after official closure time at the gate. It was rather embarrassing to have to return a van full of rubbish! I turned to St. Albans car and van hire for advice, and they very kindly offered to go and empty the an themselves for no extra charge!

We are very grateful for that.

- Jerome, 14th October 2013

A huge thank you to Mark and the crew at St Albans Car and Van Hire for supporting the British Heart Foundation on this year's London to Paris Bike Ride.

We received first rate customer care from the staff, great value for money and two top notch vans to help us transport teams and equipment all the way to Versailles. All worries about insurances, breakdown cover and sourcing suitable vehicles was looked after by a knowledgable team, taking all the worry and hassle away from what is often a complex procedure. Prompt, helpful, courteous and supportive - what more could you ask for?

I simply couldn't recommend them enough.

- Rob Cox from British Heart Foundation, 18th September 2013

St Albans van hire are amazing. A truely amazing company, providing a great service as well as quality reliable vehicles.

They lent us a long haul van to support us to the London to Paris Bike ride
This enabled us to transport the bikes, luggage and tools. With the poor weather we had a walk in wordrobe

They were amazing to deal with, Mark has been entertained by the adventures and they they are a pleasure to speak to.

A professional, realiable and charitable company. One to support.

Thank you

- Claire Kennedy from BHF, 15th September 2013

I found the above company excellant to deal with. The staff were courteous and efficient. I would recommend them.

- Susan Abbey from Small Beginnings, 8th April 2013

I recently organised a London to Paris charity cycle trip and required two vans to support the ride and transport bikes back from Paris. St Albans Car and Van Hire stood out as offering the best value of all the vehicle hire companies we reviewed. They had a large range of vehicles, all of which appeared to be in excellent condition and with low mileage. The vehicles also underwent a thorough mechanical check before we took them onto the continent.

The team proved to be incredibly helpful, allowing us to change the booking details with no fuss, and providing us with useful extras such as European safety kits and commonly required spare parts in case of breakdown. Special mention to Christine who's flexibility as we changed travel plans, was hugely appreciated

I would thoroughly recommend St Albans Car and Van Hire to anyone looking for good value, good quality vehicles and great service.

- Simon Brown, 3rd July 2013

The team at St Albans Car and Van Hire have our best interests at heart. They are trustworthy, efficient, and professional and go well beyond what is to be reasonably expected. 4DMax operate all over the World at the drop of a hat. So having a flexible and reliable van hire partner is essential for us. We have never ever been let down or compromised in all our years of using St Albans Car and Van Hire. They are our trusted partners and very good friends. Many thanks for all your support.

- Duncan Lees from 4DMax on January 28th 2013

Working as a production executive at 1000heads LTD I hired a Luton Box van from St Albans Car and Van hire for the best part of 4 months for our Pedigree "play again" campaign.

This involved a lot of discussions and advice in the early stages of planning the campaign to work out costs and rental periods. Christine and the team were incredibly accommodating and helpful during this entire process, rapidly responding to our queries, always with a friendly and enthusiastic manner. Going out of their way to help in any way they could.

The van itself was flawless which was important as the van was branded and on display at events that were open to the public. It provided a comfortable means of transportation for many weekends on the road, traveling up and down the country. We had no problems at all with the performance of the van which was great. it provided great peace of mind knowing that in midst of many other issues the van could always be relied upon.

I would highly recommend St Albans Car and Van Hire to both personal and corporate renters! I'm sure we will be using them again in the future.

- Richard from 1000 Heads on January 18th 2013

Loading... Updating page...